Monday 1 February 9.30 am to 11.30

Meetings are held on the second floor of Launceston library.

Newcomers are very welcome to join the meetings.





Society of Women Writers of Tasmania


Minutes of meeting held on 7th December 2020 at Launceston Library




Meeting opened 9.45am, with a small introductory exercise


Present Ros Sydes; Erin Eiffe; Mary Farr; Wendy Laing; Yvonne Gluyas; Catherine Marshall; Kathy Duff; Jane Waite


Apologies - Janet Berry


Homework - title was Christmas. Everyone had a different story - some imaginary, some based on their own experiences.


Raffle - Wendy donated a present on Janet’s behalf. Won by Yvonne Gluyas


General Business Wendy presented Sally Ogden’s report on the recent SWWT Poetry competition. The report was very detailed and a testament to her thoroughness as a judge. Here are the winners and their poetry pieces -


First Prize - He sees the future - Beth Clapton, Petersham, NSW


Second Prize - Trapper - Mocco Wollert, Keperra, QLD


Third Prize - I am a logger’s daughter - Sandra James, Heathcote, VIC


Highly recommended - Fernweh - David Terelinck, Biggera, QLD


Highly recommended - Swifts in winter - Averil Drummond - Brunkerville, NSW


Commended - Liuwa Plains - Helen Bradwell, Williamstown, VIC


Certificates and prizes have been issued, thanks to Wendy, who informed SWWT that this year we made a profit on the short story and poetry competitions for the first time!


Homework - for next meeting ‘What I did in the holidays’


Round Robyn - everyone told the meeting what they were doing regards to their writing/reading etc.


Meeting closed - 11.15am


Members then attended the Christmas breakup, held at Steve’s Grill.


Next meeting 1st February 2021 at the Launceston Library, Level 2, at 9.30am - 12.30pm.


Minute written by secretary, Mary Helen Farr

Write a new comment: (Click here)

Characters left: 160
DONE Sending...

Catherine Smith | Reply 22.11.2018 13:08

Hello Trish and Claire, my name is Catherine and I am also keen to meet other women in the Hobart area who write. Have you organized any times to get together?

swwtas@gmail.com | Reply 26.09.2018 23:29

Hi, Claire. No SWWT meetings in Hobart but women writers do meet regularly. Look up Robyn Mathison on our committee list and contact her for more info... Cheers

Claire | Reply 26.09.2018 18:23

Hi there
I'm based in Hobart and keen to meet other women who are writing.
Is there a meeting coming up in Hobart?

Trish McGuire 16.10.2018 11:49

Hi Claire,
I am based in Hobart and looking at forming Hobart meetings where people can share works and ideas face to face!
Love to hear from you! Trish

See all comments

| Reply

Latest comments

15.08 | 12:21

We meet from 9.30 am to 12 noon on the first Monday in each month.
Secretary Wendy

15.08 | 08:15

do you only meet during business hours?

06.06 | 14:40

The SWWT Rose Frankcombe Short Story Award is open to all authors, both male and female and anyone in the world can enter.

04.06 | 21:41

Is a Hong Kong resident eligible to enter the competition?

You liked this page