The prestigious Alice Literary Award has been awarded to some of Australia’s best women writers and the latest to join the list is the Sally Odgers from Latrobe.

'To say I am honoured by this peer-judged award is an understatement. To be nominated is a great boost. To win is enormous.' Sally Odgers

The Alice Award places her in very good company with the last Tasmanian to win it, Dr Margaret Scott, in 2004.

Some other winners include Mem Fox who wrote Possum Magic, Ruth Park whose work includes The Harp in the South and The Muddle-Headed Wombat and All the Rivers Run author Nancy Cato, to name a few. 

The distinctly dark bronze statuette is only given out every two years to a female writer for “an outstanding long-term contribution to Australian literature”. 

The Society of Women Writers from five state-based groups submit their nominees to receive the unique trophy modelled on Henry Lawson's Drover's Wife.

 Extract from 'The Advocate' 22nd December, 2018


Back to Home Page

 In 2016, Society of Women Writers, Tasmania, Inc.,  had the honour of presenting the prestigious Alice Award on August 6 at a dinner held at the Boathouse, Launceston. The event was attended by the Society of Women Writers, Tasmania patron Her Excellency Professor the Honourable Kate Warner, AM, Governor of Tasmania, with keynote speakers Tasmanian author Rachael Treasure and journalist Alison Andrews of the Country Courier, Longford.The Tasmanian nominee for the Alice Award 2016 was Robyn Friend. A worthy nominee for this award, Robyn has made a significant contribution to the betterment of the art of writing. Read here what The Examiner had to say on Sunday, May 22.

 The Society is delighted to announce that Dr Clare Wright of Victoria is the 2016 recipient of the Alice Award. Congratulations, Clare.

Back to Home Page

Write a new comment: (Click here)
Characters left: 160
DONE Sending...
See all comments

| Reply

Latest comments

09.08 | 09:06

Hello MJ, the competition organiser has advised me that a list of shortlisted stories will not be published. Thanks for your inquiry.

06.08 | 08:46

Hello. Will you be announcing the shortlisted stories for 2021?
Congratulations to the winners!

20.07 | 18:18

Hi Deborah, the results will be available in a month or two, there is no set date. The results will be posted on this website and the facebook page.

20.07 | 17:18

Hello, I am wondering when the Rose Fankcombe Short Story Prize longlist/shortlist is likely to be announced, please. I cannot see a date.

You liked this page