Society of Women Writers, Tasmania, Inc

NEXT MEETING, November 14, 2016

Please note everyone, the first Monday in November is RECREATION DAY, A PUBLIC HOLIDAY, which means the next Launceston meeting will be on Monday, November 14, 2016, in the Ida Burchill Room, 34-36 Paterson Street, Launceston, 10.00 a.m. to 1.00 p.m.

Tea and coffee available (gold coin donation)


Homework: Fast Fiction Phobia of 100 words in poetry or prose




The Society of Women Writers, Tasmania, Inc., this year had the honour of presenting the prestigious Alice Award on August 6 at a dinner held at the Boathouse, Launceston. The event was attended by the Society of Women Writers, Tasmania patron Her Excellency Professor the Honourable Kate Warner, AM, Governor of Tasmania, with keynote speakers Tasmanian author Rachael Treasure and journalist Alison Andrews of the Country Courier, Longford.

The Society is delighted to announce that Dr Clare Wright of Victoria is the 2016 recipient of the Alice Award. Congratulations, Clare.

Eleanor Dark 1978

Judith Wright 1980

Mary Durack 1982

Kylie Tennant 1984

Ruth Park 1986

Nancy Cato 1988

Nance Donkin 1990

Elizabeth Jolley 1992

Mem Fox 1994

Patsy Adam-Smith 1996

Kathryn Purnell 1998

Jill Shearer 2000

Kate Grenville 2002

Dr. Margaret Scott 2004

Rosemary Dobson 2006

Dr. Brenda Niall 2008

Christobel Mattingley 2010

Susanna de Vries 2012

Libby Hathorn 2014

Dr. Clare Wright 2016





The Tasmanian nominee for the Alice Award 2016 was Robyn Friend. A worthy nominee for this award, Robyn has made a significant contribution to the betterment of the art of writing. Read here what The Examiner had to say on Sunday, May 22.



Prize winners: YA S/s Competition for NW students

The SWWT is delighted that Joan Rylah, MP, Lib., Braddon, could present the prizes to the North West Coast students who were the winners of the YA Short Story Competition. Run in conjunction with the Extravaganza by the Leven:Book Fair for Tasmanian writers held in May, 2016, the Society's thanks go to Joan who generously donated the prize money - and the the judges, Michelle Luck, Raising the Bar (Literacy), Assistant Principal Burnie High School, & Carol Hay, Raising the Bar (Literacy), Parklands High School.

 And the winners are:

First prize: $100.00 - How is this Equal? - Amy Dodwell (15) (home schooled)

Second prize: $60.00 - Marsellaise - Mackenzie Maclaine-cross (14) (Burnie High School)

Third prize: $40.00 - My Dearest Granddaughter - Lilli Markota (12) ) (Parklands High School)

Commended: voucher - My Difference - Summer Scott (13) (Burnie High School)

Commended: voucher - Untitled - Makayla Martin (14) Parklands High School

Congratulations to all the students who entered the competition.



And the final lucky winners of the Alice raffle are:

1st Prize: Zoe Capocchi - baby blanket

2nd Prize - Bec Mac - massage

3rd Prize - Anne Wilde - scarf

4th Prize - Reg - journal & wine

5th Prize - Zoe Capocchi - platter and bubbles

6th Prize - Mary Hawkins - a pair of mugs

7th Prize - Bruce Pen - Seahorse World vouchers

8th Prize - Glenda Bins - Baragula novels

Congratulations to all raffle prize winners and thank you to all who participated.



The Margot Manchester short story competition is now closed. Winners announced soon.

The Robyn Mathison annual poetry competition is now closed. Winners announced soon.



Click here for a link to a downloadable SWWT Membership Application Form

Write a new comment: (Click here)
Characters left: 160
DONE Sending...

Marilyn | Reply 13.04.2016 10.56

How about some phone numbers on these pages?

SWWT Moderator | Reply 29.06.2015 12.17


kathrine humpston | Reply 11.05.2015 14.47

I like this:

Sarah | Reply 24.02.2015 08.37

I'm finding it very hard to find contact and membership information from the web page - only info about the literary awards. There seems to be a closed loop.

SWWT MODERATOR 24.02.2015 19.22

Follow this link and scroll to the bottom of the page for a downloadable membership form, Sarah. Any questions, email Cheers...

SWWT Moderator | Reply 19.02.2015 19.33

It's on again! The Launceston, Tasmania Literary Award, 2015 has been launched. Come along and see the details. Join in, write a short story...

SWWT Moderator | Reply 20.01.2015 01.50

Great News! Come and see who has won a place in the second Margot Manchester Memorial Short Story Award, and in the inaugural Robyn Mathison Annual Poetry Award

SWWT MODERATOR | Reply 14.01.2015 20.42

Click here for the latest SWWT news...

SWWT Moderator | Reply 20.12.2014 12.20

Important message for SWWT Launceston members! Our Launceston venue for meetings is no longer available. See for details...

Moderator | Reply 03.12.2014 11.42

I anticipate the RM award winners will be announced at the same time as the MM award winners, Anne. Thank you for your enquiry...

See all comments

| Reply

Latest comments

13.04 | 10:56

How about some phone numbers on these pages?

29.06 | 12:17


11.05 | 14:47

I like this:

20.04 | 11:25

We are always happy to share members' news, Karen. Congratulations on the chapter for Against the Odds:Care Leavers at University.

You liked this page