Mary Helen Farr lives in Tasmania, Australia, with her husband Andrew. Her three children and three grandchildren live close by. Nurturing a love of writing that began as a child, she published her first novel in 2013. Now retired, she has time to indulge her imagination, setting many of her stories to the backdrop of this beautiful, picturesque State.

Mary is the Past President of the Society of Women Writers Tasmania and is currently secretary.

To purchase copies of Mary's books go to: 

Or contact the author:


WHOSE TREE WILL IT BE? by Mary Helen Farr

Detective Inspector Jean Augustine is on the trail to solve yet another murder – this time on the East coast of Tasmania, Australia, in the sleepy rural village of Dennison where he is holidaying. However, his break is disrupted when the local Sergeant, Noel Harvey, asks him to solve the murder of local lad Shane Savage, whose mutilated body is found by local resident Glenys Cussons as she makes her way home from an evening bridge game.

Constable Rosalie Smythe, Inspector Augustine’s trusty side kick, makes sure she joins her beloved Inspector on the case, and the three law enforcers begin their inquiries.

Dennison is far from sleepy, as undercurrents of local affairs, and family lies and deceits, lead the Inspector down many a sidetrack, until an arrest is imminent.


A CHANGE OF HEART by Mary Helen Farr


Kevin’s life is falling apart. His work is no longer rewarding, he is tired and miserable. Something has to change. But how, and what to? When Kevin finally cracks, he takes off along the north-east coast of Tasmania where he meets Jim, a loner who helps him turn his life around. But it is a chance meeting with the delightful Ellen that gives him the break he needs. His loving wife, Alison stands by his decision to invest in ‘The Hideaway’, a beautiful guest house by the sea. As she supports Kevin through his life crisis, she must also challenge her ailing mother’s demands. Meanwhile their daughter, Melissa, has her own problems. Acting maturely isn’t in her nature, so when things get serious with Joel, her workmate, trouble brews.     


Nick’s life up until now, has been packed with trouble. A neglected childhood, followed by run ins with the law. He now resides in a detention centre (near Deloraine), rubbing shoulders with other troubled lads. Escape can mean a new start, or if nothing else, respect from the other inmates.

Margaret and Jack (living in Launceston) enjoy a privileged life style. But their marriage is on the rocks. Margaret can’t accept the changes this will mean to her. A demotion from high society and a restricted income will ruin her life, whereas Jack views separation as the chance to cut free. He seeks peace with his sister in law, Alice, and his brother in law, Brian, on their farm at Kayena

Nick’s escape and Margaret and Jack’s problems, culminate in a stand off at the farm.

The novel, ‘What Price Freedom’ is set in the North of Tasmania, Australia. It explores man’s bid for freedom, but will the freedom Nick and others seek be better than what they have already and perhaps, do not appreciate?



Harrison’s Way

Eve’s Second Chance

Tales of Tasmania

A Stone’s Throw

Murder Times Three

Write a new comment: (Click here)
Characters left: 160
DONE Sending...
See all comments

| Reply

Latest comments

13.01 | 15:24

Hi, I'm wondering if the Robyn Mathison Poetry Prize winners have been announced? It feels like it's been awhile but maybe that's how time appears right now ...

30.09 | 15:24

Hi Lella, you are very welcome to come along to one of our meetings. The details are on this website.

30.09 | 14:03

i am a writer of short fiction, and creative non-fiction.
i am very keen to establish an ongoing engagement with writers from Launceston.

09.08 | 09:06

Hello MJ, the competition organiser has advised me that a list of shortlisted stories will not be published. Thanks for your inquiry.

You liked this page